Home    What's new    Search    Contact Us   Sign in / Register
· You are here: Home • About us • Governance »
About us Our work What's on Geography today Press & Media News Join us
Royal Geographical Society (with IBG): the heart of geography
Committee Vacancies
Council positions for election
Sale of artworks by Thomas Baines, North Australia Expedition 1855-57


The Society has a board of trustees, known as the Council, who are responsible for the Society’s governance and meet three times per year.

On the Council, 21 members are nominated and elected for a three year term of office by the Fellowship of the Society. In addition, up to four members are co-opted onto the Council, including a postgraduate student representative.

The Council members’ expertise and interests represent the main areas of Society activity and bring a breadth of experience from the wider world.

The Council is chaired by the President who is elected for a three year term. The current President is Nicholas Crane.

The Council has committees that consider matters of strategy and implementation relating to their specific areas of expertise and which advise the Council and Society staff. The Council's committees currently include: Education; Expeditions and Fieldwork; Finance; Research and Higher Education.

There are also a small number of specialist sub-committees that advise Council.

The current strategic plan, covering the period 2012 to 2016, provides the context and focus for the Society’s development at each stage and is supported by five year implementation, business and fundraising plans, as well as a comprehensive risk review. Annual operating plans are derived from these documents.

RGS-IBG links
Annual Review
Strategic plan

2014 Trustee's Report and Consolidated Financial Statements (PDF)

Council membership June 2016 - June 2017

Committee membership 2016

Send email to
Director's office

· Accessibility statement
· Terms and Conditions, and Cookie use
· Contact Webmaster
· Download Adobe Reader
· RGS-IBG is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Bookmark and Share