Home    What's new    Search    Contact Us   Sign in / Register
· You are here: Home • About us • Medals and awards »
About us Our work What's on Geography today Press & Media News Join us
Royal Geographical Society (with IBG): the heart of geography
Nominate your choice
History and past recipients of the medals and awards
2017 medals and awards

2012 medals and awards

Since 1832, our prestigious medals and awards have recognised excellence in geographical research and fieldwork, teaching and public engagement.

They are presented annually in recognition of those who have made outstanding achievements.

Presentation of the Royal Medals and other awards of the Society took place during the Society's annual general meeting (AGM) on 11 June 2012, at the Society in central London.

Royal Medals

Her Majesty The Queen has approved the award of the Royal Medals as follows:

Founder's Medal

  • Professor Charles Withers
    'for the encouragement and development of historical and cultural geography'

Patron's Medal

  • Alastair Fothergill
    'for promoting globally the understanding of the world’s environments’

Society Council awards

The Society's Council has made the following awards:

Victoria Medal

  • Professor Stuart Lane
    'for research in physical geography and hydrological modelling’

Busk Medal

  • Professor Claudio Vita-Finzi
    'for fieldwork on Mediterranean landscape change’ 

Cherry Kearton Medal and Award

  • Andy Rouse
    'for nature and wildlife photography around the world’

Murchison Award

  • Professor Gillian Rose
    'for publications on visual culture and geographical methodology’

Back Award

  • Professor Simon Hay
    'for research contributing to public health policy’

Cuthbert Peek Award

  • Professor Giles Foody
    'for innovation in the remote sensing of land cover change’

Gill Memorial Award

  • Dr Mustafa Dikec
    'for research on space, politics and urban geography’

Ordnance Survey Awards (two awards)

  • Paul Cornish
  • Lydia Williams
    'for excellence in teaching geography at secondary level’

Taylor & Francis Award

  • Professor Kenneth Foote
    'for excellence in teaching and learning in geography in higher education’

Alfred Steers Dissertation Prize

  • Sophie Devall
    'for the undergraduate geography dissertation judged to be the best in 2011'

Area Prize

  • Karin Schwiter
    'for the best article in the journal by a new researcher'

Ness Award

  • Simon Reeve
    'for popularising geography through television travel documentaries and writing’

Geographical Award

  • United Kingdom Antarctic Heritage Trust
    'for furthering learning through historical Antarctic expeditions'

Special awards

Honorary Fellowship

  • David Lyon
    'for outstanding commitment to the Society's work'

Regional Anniversary Awards

These awards recognise the distinguished and hard working efforts of the regional committees in creating a programme that has grown from some 10 events in the first year to almost 100 events in 2011.

  • Brig John Hemsley
  • Stuart Hepburn
    'for long-standing services to the Society’s regional activities'

· Accessibility statement
· Terms and Conditions, and Cookie use
· Contact Webmaster
· Download Adobe Reader
· RGS-IBG is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Bookmark and Share