Home    What's new    Search    Contact Us   Sign in / Register
· You are here: Home • About us • Medals and awards »
About us Our work What's on Geography today Press & Media News Join us
Royal Geographical Society (with IBG): the heart of geography
Nominate your choice
History and past recipients of the medals and awards
2017 medals and awards

2013 Medals and Awards

Since 1832, our prestigious Medals and Awards have recognised excellence in geographical research and fieldwork, teaching and public engagement.

They are presented annually in recognition of those who have made outstanding achievements.

Presentation of the Royal Medals and other Awards of the Society took place during the Society's annual general meeting (AGM) on 3 June 2013, at the Society in central London. An account of the ceremony has been published in The Geographical Journal.

Royal Medals

Her Majesty The Queen has approved the award of the Royal Medals as follows:

Founder's Medal

  • Professor Keith Richards
    'for the encouragement and development of physical geography and fluvial geomorphology'

Patron's Medal

  • Michael Palin
    'for the promotion of geography and geographical education’

Society Council awards

The Society's Council has made the following awards:

Victoria Medal

  • Professor Paul A Longley
    'for research in geographic information science’

Busk Medal

  • Professor Susan Page
    'for conservation research on tropical peatlands in Indonesia’ 

Cherry Kearton Medal and Award

  • Yann Arthus-Bertrand
    'for inspiring understanding of the world through aerial photography’

Murchison Award

  • Professor Kelvyn Jones
    'for publications on quantitative geography’

Back Award

  • Professor Jane Wills
    'for research contributing to public employment policy’

Cuthbert Peek Award

  • Dr Lee Chapman
    'for advancing knowledge of urban climatology through GIS and remote sensing’

Gill Memorial Award

  • Dr Richard Powell
    'for research on historical and Polar geography’

Ordnance Survey Awards (two awards)

  • Maria Larkin
  • David Rogers
    'for excellence in teaching geography at secondary level’

Taylor & Francis Award

  • Professor Derek France
    'for excellence in teaching and learning in geography in higher education’

Alfred Steers Dissertation Prize

  • Will Rosser
    'for the undergraduate geography dissertation judged to be the best in 2012'

Ness Award

  • Wade Davis
    'for popularising geography through writing about places, cultures and history’

Area Prize

  • Martin Muir
    'for the best article in the journal by a new researcher'

Fordham Award

  • Dr Catherine Delano-Smith
    'for distinguished contributions to the field of cartography'

· Accessibility statement
· Terms and Conditions, and Cookie use
· Contact Webmaster
· Download Adobe Reader
· RGS-IBG is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Bookmark and Share