Home    What's new    Search    Contact Us   Sign in / Register
· You are here: Home • About us • Medals and awards »
About us Our work What's on Geography today Press & Media News Join us
Royal Geographical Society (with IBG): the heart of geography
Nominate your choice
History and past recipients of the medals and awards
2017 medals and awards

2014 Medals and Awards

Since 1832, our prestigious Medals and Awards have recognised excellence in geographical research and fieldwork, teaching and public engagement.

They are presented annually in recognition of those who have made outstanding achievements.
Presentation of the Royal Medals and other Awards of the Society took place during the Society's Annual General Meeting (AGM) on 9 June 2014, at the Society in central London.

Royal Medals

Her Majesty The Queen has approved the award of the Royal Medals as follows:

Founder's Medal

  • Professor Geoffrey Boulton
    'for the development and promotion of glaciology’

Patron's Medal

  • Hans Rosling
    'for the encouragement and development of the public understanding of geographical data and influencing decision makers across the world’

Society Council awards

The Society's Council has made the following awards:

Victoria Medal

  • Professor Susan J. Smith
    'for conspicuous merit in research in human geography’

Busk Medal

  • Professor Uma Kothari
    'for fieldwork to support an understanding of global development’

Cherry Kearton Medal and Award

  • Jens Bjerre
    'for photography of indigenous peoples across the world’

Murchison Award

  • Professor John Dearing
    ‘for publications contributing to the understanding of environmental change’

Back Award

  • Professor David Gibbs
    'for research that contributes to the development of environmental and economic policy’

Gill Memorial Award

  • Dr Katherine Brickell
    'for the potential shown in studies on gender relations’

Ness Award

  • Nicholas Crane
    'for popularising geography and the understanding of Britain’

Taylor & Francis Award

  • Dr Richard Harris
    ‘for excellence in the promotion and practice of teaching quantitative methods’

Ordnance Survey Award (two awards)

  • Dr Simon Oakes
  • Elizabeth Phipson
    ‘in recognition of excellence in geography education at the secondary level’

Geographical Award

  • Jamie Buchanan-Dunlop
    ‘for supporting school students in learning from and being inspired by expeditions’

Area Prize

  • Dr Thomas Birtchnell
    'for the best article in the journal by a new researcher'

Alfred Steers Dissertation Prize

  • Jonathan Collings
    'for the undergraduate geography dissertation judged to be the best in 2013’

Honorary Fellowship

  • Michael Jackson
  • Stephen Henwood
    ‘in recognition of outstanding commitment and contribution to the Society’s work’

· Accessibility statement
· Terms and Conditions, and Cookie use
· Contact Webmaster
· Download Adobe Reader
· RGS-IBG is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Bookmark and Share