Home    What's new    Search    Contact Us   Sign in / Register
· You are here: Home • About us • Medals and awards »
About us Our work What's on Geography today Press & Media News Join us
Royal Geographical Society (with IBG): the heart of geography
Nominate your choice
History and past recipients of the medals and awards
2017 medals and awards

2017 Medals and Awards

Since 1832, our prestigious Medals and Awards have recognised excellence in geographical research and fieldwork, teaching and public engagement.

They are presented annually in recognition of those who have made outstanding achievements.
Presentation of the Royal Medals and other Awards of the Society took place during the Society's Annual General Meeting (AGM) on 5 June 2017, at the Society in Kensington, London.

Royal Medals

Her Majesty The Queen has approved the award of the Royal Medals as follows:

Founder's Medal

  • Sir Gordon Conway KCMG FRS: ‘for the enhancement and promotion of agricultural development in Asia and Africa'

Patron's Medal

  • Lindsey Hilsum: ‘for promoting the understanding of global conflict and inequality'

Society Council awards

The Society's Council has made the following awards:

Victoria Medal

  • Professor Andrew Cliff FBA, DSc: ‘for research excellence in spatial epidemiology'

Busk Medal

  • Professor David J A Evans: ‘for excellence and originality in the study of glacial landscapes and processes and empowering the next generation’

Cherry Kearton Medal and Award

  • Harry Hook; ‘for original documentation of Africa through photography’

Murchison Award

  • Professor Henry Wai-chung Yeung: ‘for pioneering publications in the field of globalisation’

Back Award

  • Professor Harriet Bulkeley: ‘for contributions to the shaping of international policy on climate change’

Cuthbert Peek Award

  • Dr James Cheshire: ‘for advancing geographical knowledge through the use of mappable Big Data'

Gill Memorial Award

  • Dr Sarah Mills: ‘for outstanding early career research in cultural geography'

Ordnance Survey Awards (two awards)

  • Claire Power and Paul Turner: 'for excellence in geography education at the secondary level'

Taylor & Francis Award

  • Professor Ian Cook et al: 'for excellence in the promotion and practice of teaching and learning of geography in higher education'

Ness Award

  • Professor Kathleen Jamie: 'for outstanding creative writing at the confluence of travel, nature and culture'

Alfred Steers Dissertation Prize

  • Alex Henry: ‘for the undergraduate geography dissertation judged to be the best in 2016’

Area Prize

  • Dr Brendon Blue: ‘for the best article in the journal by a new researcher’

Geographical Award

  • The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award: 'for inspiring generations of young people through challenging expeditions'

Honorary Fellowship

  • David Riviere: ‘in recognition of outstanding commitment and contribution to the Society’


Find out more

· Accessibility statement
· Terms and Conditions, and Cookie use
· Contact Webmaster
· Download Adobe Reader
· RGS-IBG is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Bookmark and Share