Home    What's new    Search    Contact Us   Sign in / Register
· You are here: Home • About us • Medals and awards »
About us Our work What's on Geography today Press & Media News Join us
Royal Geographical Society (with IBG): the heart of geography
Nominate your choice
History and past recipients of the medals and awards
2017 medals and awards

Medals and awards

Since 1832, our prestigious medals and awards have recognised excellence in geographical research and fieldwork, teaching and public engagement.

They are presented annually in recognition of those who have made outstanding achievements.  Any Fellow or member of the Society may make a nomination.

2017 recipients                         

History and past recipients

Nominate your

Nominate your choice » Image: RGS-IBG medals and awards

Her Majesty The Queen approves the award of two Gold Medals every year. They originated in 1831, as an annual gift of fifty guineas from King William IV.

In 1839, the Society decided that this sum should be converted into two gold medals of equal value, to be designated the Founder’s Medal and the Patron’s Medal.

Today, the Society's Gold Medals are among the highest international accolades and are awarded for the encouragement and promotion of geography, science and discovery.

Medals and Awards list and descriptions (PDF)

Send email to
Director's office

· Accessibility statement
· Terms and Conditions, and Cookie use
· Contact Webmaster
· Download Adobe Reader
· RGS-IBG is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Bookmark and Share