Home    What's new    Search    Contact Us   Sign in / Register
· You are here: Home • About us • Medals and awards »
About us Our work What's on Geography today Press & Media News Join us
Royal Geographical Society (with IBG): the heart of geography
Nominate your choice
Previous recipients
History of the medals and awards
2016 medals and awards
2015 Medals and awards

Previous recipients

The Society’s medals and awards have long recognised outstanding achievements to geographers, from eminent scientists, school teachers, early career researchers and those involved in policy making.

Neil Armstrong, Sir David Attenborough, Sylvia Earle, Simon King, Neil Oliver, Professor Lord Nicholas Stern and Professor Edward O Wilson are among the more well-known recipients.

Full list of recipients

  • Full list of medals and awards recipients from 1970 - 2015 (PDF) 

    Gold Medal recipients

  • Gold Medal recipients (PDF) 

    Annual list of recipients 2004 to 2014

  • Send email to
    Director's Office

    · Accessibility statement
    · Terms and Conditions, and Cookie use
    · Contact Webmaster
    · Download Adobe Reader
    · RGS-IBG is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

    Bookmark and Share