Home    What's new    Search    Contact Us   Sign in / Register
· You are here: Home • About us • People and staff »
About us Our work What's on Geography today Press & Media News Join us
Royal Geographical Society (with IBG): the heart of geography
Society staff
Search for a new Director

People and staff

People are at the heart of the Society. Our dedicated staff, trustees, council and committee members, regional co-ordinators, Fellows and members all contribute significantly to the Society’s thriving community by offering their knowledge, financial support, assistance and enthusiasm.


  • HRH The Princess Royal KG KT GCVO

Honorary President

  • HRH The Duke of Kent KG GCMG GCVO

Honorary Vice Presidents

  • Professor Eric Brown
  • Professor Sir Gordon Conway 
  • Professor Sir Ron Cooke
  • Sir Christopher Ondaatje
  • Michael Palin CBE 
  • The Earl of Selborne KBE FRS DL
  • Sir Crispin Tickell GCMG KCVO


  • Nicholas Crane

Immediate past president, 2012-2015

  • Professor Dame Judith Rees

Director and Secretary

  • Dr Rita Gardner CBE
RGS-IBG links
· Governance
· Jobs at RGS-IBG
Send email to
· Director's office

· Accessibility statement
· Terms and Conditions, and Cookie use
· Contact Webmaster
· Download Adobe Reader
· RGS-IBG is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Bookmark and Share