Home    What's new    Search    Contact Us   Sign in / Register
· You are here: Home • About us • Medals and awards »
About us Our work What's on Geography today Press & Media News Join us
Royal Geographical Society (with IBG): the heart of geography
Nominate your choice
History and past recipients of the medals and awards
2017 medals and awards

2009 medals and awards

Founder's Medal and Patron's MedalSince 1832, our prestigious medals and awards have recognised excellence in geographical research and fieldwork, teaching and public engagement.

They are presented annually in recognition of those who have made outstanding achievements.

The 2009 medals and awards are awarded during the Society's Annual General Meeting (AGM) on 1 June 2009, at the Society's headquarters in central London.

Royal Medals

Her Majesty The Queen has approved the award of the royal medals, as follows:

Founder’s Medal

  • Dr Alan Baker
    ‘for contributions to historical geography’

Patron’s Medal

  • Professor Lord Nicholas Stern
    ‘for contributions to climate change policy’

Society Council awards

The Society's Council has made the following awards:

Victoria Medal

  • Professor Philip Rees
    ‘for research in population geography and demography’

Busk Medal

  • Professor Janet Hooke
    ‘for field research in river systems and their conservation’

Cherry Kearton Medal and Award

  • Simon King
    ‘for wildlife photography’

Murchison Award

  • Professor Jenny Robinson
    ‘for publications in urban development and theory‘

Back Award

  • Professor Danny Dorling
    ‘for empirical research contributing to policy on welfare, inequality and
    social justice‘

Cuthbert Peek Award

  • Dr Christine Dunn
    ‘for development and application of participatory GIS’

Gill Memorial Award

  • Dr Katie Willis
    ‘for contributions to development studies’

Ordnance Survey Awards (two awards)

  • Graham Goldup
  • Rebecca Kitchen
    ‘for excellence in teaching geography at secondary level’

Taylor and Francis Award

  • Professor Iain Hay
    ‘for excellence in teaching and learning in geography in higher

Ness Award

  • Neil Oliver
    ‘for popularising and promoting understanding of the British coastal

Alfred Steers Dissertation Prize

  • Heather Dinsdale
    ‘for the undergraduate geography dissertation judged to be the best in

Area Prize

  • Dr Emilie Lagacé
    ‘for the best published article in the journal by a new researcher’

The paper was entitled: Science–policy guidelines as a benchmark: making the European Water Framework Directive

Special awards

Honorary Fellowship (two awards)

  • Rachel Bowles
  • Pat Wilson
    ‘for services to geography education'

· Accessibility statement
· Terms and Conditions, and Cookie use
· Contact Webmaster
· Download Adobe Reader
· RGS-IBG is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Bookmark and Share