Home    What's new    Search    Contact Us   Sign in / Register
· You are here: Home • Our work • Research and Higher Education »
About us Our work What's on Geography today Press & Media News Join us
Royal Geographical Society (with IBG): the heart of geography
AHRC Collaborative Doctoral Awards »
Annual International Conference
Research and Higher Education events
Dissertation awards
Journals, books and guides »
Key information and resources »
Learning, teaching and research in higher education »
Research Groups »
RGS-IBG work experience
Accreditation of programmes
Career progression in geography

Dissertation awards

The Society and its Research Groups offer a variety of Awards to outstanding undergraduate and postgraduate research. UK departments are encouraged to submit innovative, high quality thesis research. Particular focus is given to originality of thought, quality of research and excellence in presentation. 

Alfred Steers Dissertation Prize

This award is made for the best undergraduate dissertation in a UK geography department. The Essay Prize is named in honour of Professor Alfred Steers, who was Professor at the University of Cambridge for seventeen years and was Honorary Vice President, Honorary Fellow, and medallist of the Society.

Winners are commended at the Society's Annual General Meeting in June each year.

Research Group awards

The Society's Research Groups offer a wide range of undergraduate and postgraduate dissertation awards, with various deadlines for awards.

Quaternary Research Association (QRA) undergraduate dissertation award

The Quaternary Research Association, in association with the RGS-IBG, would like to recognise the achievements of undergraduates in Quaternary science by awarding a dissertation prize (£250) for a thesis demonstrating flair and originality. This prize is open to any undergraduate enrolled at a British or Irish university. Membership of the QRA or RGS-IBG is not a requirement for entry.

Entries are limited to one per department per current academic year and may be on any Quaternary theme. Entries must be submitted by department and not by individual undergraduates. The QRA welcomes nominations from all appropriate sources, including new universities or small departments. The winner will be announced at the QRA Annual General Meeting (held annually each January) and the abstract of their dissertation published in an issue of Quaternary Newsletter. The deadline for entry is 15 September each year.

For more information, visit the QRA website.

RGS-IBG links
Student grants
Research grants
Research Group dissertation awards PDF
Send email to
Research and Higher Education Division

· Accessibility statement
· Terms and Conditions, and Cookie use
· Contact Webmaster
· Download Adobe Reader
· RGS-IBG is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Bookmark and Share