Home    What's new    Search    Contact Us   Sign in / Register
· You are here: Home • Our work • Schools and education »
About us Our work What's on Geography today Press & Media News Join us
Royal Geographical Society (with IBG): the heart of geography
Teaching resources »
School Members Area »
Fieldwork and local learning »
Careers and Further Study »
Online CPD »
Running a successful department »
Information for teachers
Information for students
Information for parents
Work experience at the Society
Why Does Antarctica Matter?
Data skills in geography
Geography: a subject hub for London
Excellence Awards
How is Britain changing?

Awards for Excellence in Geographical Learning

Awards recognising and rewarding excellence in geographical examinations.

What are these awards for?

These awards aim to recognise and reward excellence in geographical examinations. It is always appreciated by students, parents and schools when the highest examination achievements are rewarded, and to have that achievement recognised by the national learned society for the subject elevates it further still. Therefore, we have embarked on an award scheme which promotes the interest and enjoyment of geography by recognising and rewarding high achievers in A Level and GCSE examinations.

The winning students each receive a cash award and certificate from the Society.

The 2015 Award Winners

A Level

  • OCR – Thomas France, Ipswich School, Suffolk
  • AQA – Megan Broughton, St Bartholomew’s School, Berkshire
  • Edexcel – Lucy Rimmer, Tunbridge Wells Girls’ Grammar School, Kent
  • CCEA – Katie Kane, Larne Grammar School, Larne, Northern Ireland; Sophie Sterne, Dalriada School, Ballymoney, Northern Ireland
  • WJEC – Rachael Beaty, Queen Elizabeth Grammar School Penrith, Cumbria


  • OCR – (Spec A) Thomas Harkness, The King Alfred School, Somerset; (Spec B) Nicola Jennings, Kenilworth School and Sixth Form, Warwickshire
  • AQA – (Spec A) Eleanor Turner, Goffs School, Hertfordshire; (Spec B) Rebecca Kellaghan, John Taylor School, Staffordshire
  • Edexcel – (Spec A) Tiree Niven, St Michael’s Catholic Grammar School, London; (Spec B) Eva Crowson, Bosworth Academy, Leicestershire; Aisling Cunningham, St Mary’s School Ascot, Berkshire
  • CCEA – Wioletta Witek, Drumragh Integrated College, Omagh, Northern Ireland
  • WJEC – (Spec A) Megan Jeffery, Bassaleg School, Newport, Wales; (Spec B) James Musgrave, All Hallows Catholic College, Cheshire 


  • AQA – Ariel Ng, Queenswood, Hertfordshire
  • Edexcel – Alisha Jani, Wycombe Abbey School, Buckinghamshire; Jenny Strange, Reigate Grammar School, Surrey
  • CIE – Selina Schoelles, Moreton Hall, Shropshire

Level 1/Level 2 Certificate in Geography

  • Edexcel – Maryam Shah, The Henrietta Barnett School, London


  • CIE – Freya Fine, Charterhouse, Surrey

International Baccalaureate

  • Rory Alexander, Sevenoaks School, Kent
  • Abigail Hands, Sevenoaks School, Kent  


· Accessibility statement
· Terms and Conditions, and Cookie use
· Contact Webmaster
· Download Adobe Reader
· RGS-IBG is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Bookmark and Share