Home    What's new    Search    Contact Us   Sign in / Register
· You are here: Home • Our work • Schools and education » • Schools competitions
About us Our work What's on Geography today Press & Media News Join us
Royal Geographical Society (with IBG): the heart of geography
Young Geographer of the Year 2017
Rex Walford Award 2017
Past competition winners
David W Smith Memorial Prize 2017

Developing Areas Research Group (DARG) of the Royal Geographical Society with IBG:
David W. Smith Memorial Prize 2017 (supported by Routledge Publishers)

Essay Competition

David W Smith, who also published under the name of David Drakakis Smith, was an outstanding scholar committed to researching on Third World cities. He died in 1999.

The Developing Areas Research Group of the Royal Geographical Society (with the Institute of British Geographers) runs an annual essay competition in memory of David W. Smith. Our prize is £100 cheque from Routledge Publishers.

Details from the 2018 competition can be found below:

A2 level students in England and Wales and Advanced Higher students in Scotland are invited to write an essay of up to 1,500 words on the following title:

With reference to one city in the Global South and one key theme (gender, health or sexuality) answer the following question:

To what extent (& in what ways) does the city ensure the safety of its citizens?

  • Essays should be word processed, 1.5 spaced.
  • The word count does not include the reference list.

Essays must be received by Friday 16 March 2018. Please include your name, school and contact details with your essay. Your teacher must confirm that the essay is your own work.

If you would like to acknowledge receipt of your essay please indicate this in your submission email.

Submit an electronic copy to the email address below:

Dr Jessica Hope jessicachloehope@gmail.com

Details of past winners can be found below:  

2017 Winner: Anna McIntyre, Cheltenham College

2017 Special Commendation: Arthur Fooks, Eton College

2015 Winner: Jack Rogers, Eton School

2014 Winner: William Nicolle Exeter School

2009 Winner: Sophie Davies, King’s School, Peterborough

2007 Winner: Samantha Kelley from Coombe Sixth Form, New Malden

2006 Winner: Kimberley Lye from Haberdashers Askes School for Girls, Hertfordshire

· Accessibility statement
· Terms and Conditions, and Cookie use
· Contact Webmaster
· Download Adobe Reader
· RGS-IBG is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Bookmark and Share