2018 winner

The Rex Walford Award is for trainees or teachers who have just started their careers, including students enrolled on a PGCE course, Teach First, or Schools Direct alongside NQTs and colleagues at a similar stage in their careers.

Similarly to the Young Geographer of the Year competition, 2018's Rex Walford Award asked entrants to produce a short scheme of work, covering at least three lessons that focused on the question ‘What makes the Arctic unique?’

The winner of the 2018 Rex Walford Award is Kathryn Crawshay, a teacher at The Wellington Academy.