Join us
Orange welcome sign that reads Royal Geographical Society with IBG.

Become a member and discover where geography can take you.

Join us

Congratulations to our new President and our newest Council and committee members who were elected at our Annual General Meeting (AGM) yesterday.​

The Society's new President is Professor Dame Jane Francis.

Our new Council members are:

  • Alan Parkinson - Vice President, Education
  • David Wood - Councillor, Professional Practice
  • Clare Hadley - Councillor, Membership

As newly elected Trustees, they join the current members of Council, our board of Trustees who are responsible for the Society’s governance and meet four times per year. 

The Trustees who retired at this year's AGM are:

  • Nigel Clifford - President
  • Lynda Chalker - Immediate Past-President
  • Melanie Norman - Vice President – Education
  • Vandana Desai - Councillor– Research and Higher Education 
  • Narinder Mann - Councillor– Education 
  • Helen Walkington - Councillor – Expeditions and Fieldwork


The new committee members are:

  • Jenny Pickerill - Research and Higher Education Committee
  • Patricia Noxolo - Chair of Annual Conference 2025, Research and Higher Education Committee


A huge thank you to all our outgoing Council and committee members for their hard work and dedication to the Society.

More news