Join us

Become a member and discover where geography can take you.

Join us

We are delighted to announce the appointment of the new editors and editorial board members at two of our scholarly journals and our book series.

Dr Jeremy Schmidt from Queen Mary University of London joined the editorial team at Area in January. 

Professor Katherine Brickell from King’s College London became an Editor of Transactions of the Institute of British Geographers in September 2023. She was joined by Professor Beth Greenhough from the University of Oxford, who replaced Professor Matt Sparke from the University of California Santa Cruz when his term of office came to an end in January.

The Editorial Board for Transactions welcomes four new members in April: Dr Nina Morris from the University of Edinburgh, Professor Junxi Qian from the University of Hong Kong, Dr Jessa Loomis from Newcastle University, and Dr Joe Gerlach from the University of Bristol. They replace the outgoing Editorial Board members: Dr Mikko Joronen from the Tampere Institute for Advanced Studies, Dr Karen Lai from Durham University, Dr Sneha Krishnan from the University of Oxford, and Dr Louise Reid from the University of St Andrews.

In our book series, Professor Margath Walker from the University of Louisville, became Editor in January, replacing Dr Chih Yuan Woon from the National University of Singapore whose term of office had come to an end.

The Editorial Advisory Board for the book series welcomed three new members at the start of this year: Dr Ayşegül Can from Istanbul Medeniyet University, Dr Matej Blazek from Newcastle University, and Dr Jake Hodder from University of Nottingham.

The Society would like to thank all of the outgoing Editors and Editorial Board members for their invaluable contributions to our scholarly publications.

More news