Join us
Orange welcome sign that reads Royal Geographical Society with IBG.

Become a member and discover where geography can take you.

Join us

Excellence Awards are given to those pupils achieving the highest grades in their GCSE, IGCSE, A Level, International Baccalaureate and Pre-U examinations. Pupils from schools across England, Northern Ireland and Wales were eligible for the awards.  

Steve Brace, RGS-IBG Head of Education and Outdoor Learning, said: “The Royal Geographical Society (with IBG) is delighted to give Excellence Awards to those pupils who have achieved some of the highest marks nationally in the 2013 geography examinations.” 

“It is a real pleasure to celebrate the work of Britain’s next generation of geographers. This is a significant achievement for all pupils receiving awards, as well as for their teachers.

The winning students, named below, each receive a cash award and certificate from the Society.

Geography A Level 2013

Melissa Bush

Branston Community Academy

Branston, Lincoln

Kate Donnan

The Royal School

Armagh, Northern Ireland

Maisie Heath

King Edward VI Five Ways School


Niamh Macpherson

Methodist College Belfast

Belfast, Northern Ireland

Elizabeth Mooney

Central Newcastle High School



Geography International Baccalaureate 2013

Freya Sanders

The Stephen Perse Foundation



Geography Pre-U 2013

Tessa Callender

Downe House

Thatcham, Berkshire


Geography IGCSE 2013

Keita Kashima

Tonbridge School


Emily Stock

Queen’s College London

Westminster, London

Christy Sze Wah Kwan

The Cheltenham Ladies’ College



Geography GCSE 2013

Tanvi Acharya                     

Sheffield High School


Matthew Chapman

St Mary Redcliffe and Temple School


Emily Coyle

Victoria College

Belfast, Northern Ireland

Lucy Cunningham

South Wilts Grammar School for Girls

Salisbury, Wiltshire

Saskia Delacave

Norwich School


Alasdair Glen

Bradford Grammar School


Sean Herron

Lumen Christi College

Derry, Northern Ireland

Laura Kruszewski

Bromley High School

Bromley, Kent

Silas Mason

Oakham School

Oakham, Rutland

Jenna McDowell

Banbridge Academy

Banbridge, Northern Ireland

David Pauli

Bedale High School

Bedale, Yorkshire

Chloe Rixon

Watford Grammar School for Girls


Rebecca Sisson

William Howard School

Brampton, Cumbria

Noam Vincent-Vogt

Fortismere School

Muswell Hill, London

Katherine Westerberg

William Howard School

Brampton, Cumbria



Notes to editors:

1. The Royal Geographical Society (with The Institute of British Geographers) is the learned society and professional body for geography. Formed in 1830, our Royal Charter of 1859 is for 'the advancement of geographical science'. Today, we deliver this objective through developing, supporting and promoting geographical research, expeditions and fieldwork, education, public engagement, and geography input to policy. We aim to foster an understanding and informed enjoyment of our world. We hold the world's largest private geographical collection and provide public access to it. We have a thriving Fellowship and membership and offer the professional accreditation 'Chartered Geographer’. More details from

2. For further media enquires please contact individual schools directly, or the Society at or 020 7519 3019